Mam Squad: Stacey’s Walks- Tarn Hows

Tarn Hows Nr Coniston

tarn hows route (2).jpg

A couple of weeks ago we ventured on our first Lake District walk with the little dude. We used to go to the Lakes quite a lot when there were just two of us but that has been put on hold recently.

Tarn Hows is near Coniston and consists of a pram friendly walk around a lake. It has its own car park but there is a charge to park there. We paid for two hours but I think it is £7 for the entire day. The car park is quite big but as it’s a popular place I would advise you get there early to ensure you get a space. There are also toilets in the car park, which if you are like me, is an important factor. I always get to the start of a walk in the Lakes and need a wee! Half way up Coniston Old Man was one I’ll always remember!

The whole route around the Tarn is a footpath so is pram and wheelchair friendly. There are a few hills but nothing too major and the views from them are worth the effort. There are places to stop and eat your picnic, if you took one, and there are some benches dotted around to enjoy the view. However my favourite part of the walk was spotting the very fluffy cows, I do love my cows! stacey-tarn-hows.jpg

 

I think it took us about an hour to walk the whole way around, I am blaming the chunk for that one. He fell asleep as soon as we set off and didn’t wake up until we got back to the car. And then proceeded to scream when his dummy fell out, which is always nice when you are on a dual carriageway!

If you are doing the walk with your little one in a carrier there is an extra section you can do. It does involve some climbing down steep paths next to a waterfall so you’ll need to be brave and have some immense balancing skills with a little person strapped to the front of you. I can’t say I would try it!

I do love this walk, we have done it many times and would go back and do it again. It’s a real easy one and as it’s in the Lakes the views are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

